Last modified on June 17, 2012, 12:15 am

TPC Members
Important dates
Paper submission
Instructions for Camera-Ready Papers
Call for papers
Work in progress
Symposium venue
Conference Banquet (Dinner)
Local info
Travel info

Supported by:

Call for Papers - WiP

The Work-in-Progress (WiP) session at SIES 2012 will be dedicated to new and on-going research in systems, methodologies, theory, tools and applications for Industrial Embedded Systems. The primary purpose of the WiP session is to provide researchers from industry and academia with an opportunity to discuss new and creative ideas, intuitions and approaches and gather feedback from the research community. Topics cover all areas of embedded industrial systems, including

  • Design and development methodologies, languages and tools: Design and Validation of Embedded Systems; Real-Time Issues; Models of Embedded Computation; Design and Verification Languages; Timing and Performance Analysis; Dependability analysis; Design Optimization.

  • System Architectures, Operating Systems and Middleware: (Real-Time) Operating Systems and Quasi-Static Scheduling; Power Aware Computing; Programming Languages; Communication Protocols, Adaptive Scheduling and Resource Management Algorithms; Security in Embedded Systems.

  • System-on-Chip and Network-on-Chip: Design of Application-Specific Instruction-Set Processors; Design, Programming of Embedded Multiprocessors; SoC Communication and Architectures; NoC Communication and Architectures; Reconfigurable Platforms; Multiprocessor SoC Platforms and Tools; Testing of SoC and NoC.

  • Networked Embedded Systems: Middleware Design and Implementation for Networked Embedded Systems; Self Adaptive Sensor Networks: Energy-Efficient Medium Access Control, Time Synchronization, Distributed Localization, Routing, Distributed Signal Processing, Security.

  • Embedded Applications: Industrial Automation and Controls; Automotive Applications; Industrial Building Automation and Control; Power (sub-)Station Automation and Control; Intelligent Sensors.

Submission of Papers: Submissions to SIES WiP should describe original on-going work, unpublished and not under submission elsewhere. WiP papers will undergo review and will be published in IEEE Explore along with the full papers. Submissions must be in the IEEE format for conference proceedings, ( and must be limited to a maximum of 4 (FOUR) pages. By submitting a paper, the authors agree and confirm that if accepted, at least one author will provide a full registration and give a short oral presentation at the conference in person.

Important dates

Submission deadline for WIP papers March 04, 2012 April 2, 2012 April 6, 2012
Notification for acceptance for WIP papers April 22, 2012 April 30, 2012
Deadline for final manuscript of WIP papers May 06, 2012 May 18, 2012 May 31, 2012


SIES 2012 Work-in-Progress Chairmen

David Macii
University of Trento, Italy
Lars Bauer
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany

SIES 2012 General Chairmen

Jian-Jia Chen
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
Richard Zurawski
ISA Group., USA

SIES 2012 Program Chairmen

Thomas Nolte
Mälardalen University, Sweden
Samarjit Chakraborty
TU Munich, Germany

WiP Technical Program Committee Members

Andrea Acquaviva, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Mark Bartlett, University of York, U.K.
Lars Bauer, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany (chair)
Oliver Bringmann, Research Center for Information Technology (FZI), Germany
Luca Benini, University of Bologna, Italy
Philip Brisk, UC Riverside, USA
Talal Bonny, University of Aleppo, Syria
Rainer Buchty, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
Marcello Coppola, ST Microelectronics, France
Liliana Cucu-Grosjean, INRIA, France
Robert De Simone, INRIA, France
Marco Di Natale, Scuola Superiore S. Anna, Italy
Radu Dobrin, MRTC, Sweden
Mohammad Abdullah Al Faruque, Siemens Corporate Research, USA
Alberto Ferrante, Alari, University of Lugano, Switzerland
Antonio Ferrari, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal
Paolo Ferrari, University of Brescia, Italy
Daniele Fontanelli,University of Trento, Italy
Franco Fummi, University of Verona, Italy
Michael Glaß, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany
Massimo Gottardi, FBK, Italy
Frank Hannig, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany
Dominic Hillenbrand, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Christian Hochberger, TU Dresden, Germany
Barbara Jobstmann, Verimag, France
Izzet Kale, University of Westminster, UK
Luciano Lavagno, Politecnico di Torino, Italy & Cadence Berkeley Labs, USA
David Macii, University of Trento, Italy (chair)
Vincent Nelis, ISEP/IPP, Portugal
Dejan Nickovic, AIT, Austria
Arnaldo Oliveira, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal
Peter Palensky, Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria
Roberto Passerone, University of Trento, Italy
Paulo Pedreiras, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal
Volnei A. Pedroni, Federal University of Technology-Paranà, Brazil
Carlos Eduardo Pereira, Univ. Fed. Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Alessandro Pinto, UTRC, USA
S Ramesh, General Motors, India
Tanguy Risset, INRIA / ENS Lyon, France
Jean-Luc Scharbarg, IRIT/ENSEEIHT/INPT University of Toulouse, France
Muhammad Shafique, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
Mikael Sjödin, MRTC/Mälardalen University, Sweden
Zhonglei Wang, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
Wang Yi, Uppsala University, Sweden
Sergio Yovine, CONICET-UBA, Argentina
Haibo Zeng, McGill University, Canada